Girls Like Us by Gail Giles

( thumbs_up ) I was a little wary of delving into this book, as I knew it was going to be told in the perspective of two mentally challenged girls. I have no problem with that in of itself, I just don’t like struggling to understand sentences like you sometimes do in books such as these. However, this was no problem for me at all. And the story line will keep you riveted.

Two special-ed girls graduate from high school and are fixed to move into together and are given jobs. Their personalities and strengths balance each other out. They take care of an older woman that lives next to them, and together they become like a family.

However, a horrible turn of events happens, and they have to struggle to get through it. But it brings them closer. The final take-back point of the story, for me, is that no matter how different you are, you still matter as much as everyone else does.

Leave a comment